The art of copying

excellent article from Gurney Journey’s blog about the ART OF COPYING:

http://gurneyjourney.blogspot.hk/2014/07/the-art-of-copying.html

Blog reader Bob Walsh asked what I thought of the business of art copying:

(…)Copying a master’s work was and still is one of the best ways to learn. (…)

Many art students do copies at the same size of the original, matching it as closely as they can(…)

Many academic artists made replica copies of their own works and didn’t consider anything wrong with having multiple originals(…)

From a philosophical perspective, all images are real in a way and unreal in a way, too— and all copies are varying degrees of “faithful,” “mechanical,” “genuine,” whether they’re made by humans or machines, or some combination(…)

From the customer’s point of view, as long as you know what you’re buying, I suppose no one is hurt by copies. As long as some people merely want a hand-painted image to hang on their walls and they don’t really care about who painted it, a market will rise to meet that demand, just as there has always been a market for reproduction antiques(…)

please read the entire article, it gives me a brand new though about the concept of “copy” (especially considering what becomes today of your artwork once it’s on the INTERNET.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The art of copying

  1. Ah, the Internet is another can of worms entirely when it comes to copying, because 1) you don’t “transfer” information over the Internet, it’s always a copy and 2) each and every copy of a digital file is perfect, indistinguishable from the original. Once it’s been made, there’s no way to tell which one came first. And a lot of people just can’t wrap their heads around that…

    • actually, the internet platform is a complete new different way/approach of everything: communication, information and, indeed, sharing.
      I am becoming more and more convincing that some internet education should be offered to kids, starting from primary schoo.
      Not to mention that adults (including me) we could also get some of those classes to confirm or learn what IS internet platform.
      This blog is on creative commons almost since its creation, but that still doesn’t mean I really KNOW what I am going/have to assume everytime I just type a single word here.

  2. pam

    Good article. I found it interesting that Bob Dylan was copying photographs and saying the paintings were from his travels. He could have at least made some changes and not tried to copy the photograph exactly. I always hesitate about putting my work on the internet. I think the only thing that would bother me is if someone made money from copying my work. Of course, I did quite a few master drawings/paintings while learning but always put my name on the back and who the original artist was.

    • it’s a difficult choice decision to disclose your work, especially on internet, as a huge fair without guard and nobody has any manners.
      Now, I remember one day I was sketching a wood sculpture in a small shop, and the shopkeeper stopped me and branded me as “thief or spy”.

      I was kinda speechless as he continues saying “it’s forbidden to draw in a museum, right? Well my shop is a museum, so it’s forbidden as well”.

      I did not insist but understood his point:he wants to sell but don’t want his “ideas” to be reproduced.

      Personally, I believe it’s impossible today to “copyright” your works. I believe more in the creative commons, in order to share but keep crediting your name.
      http://creativecommons.org/

Leave a Reply

